Jekyll Island Club National Historic Landmark District
Also known as the Old Infirmary, for its later purpose, this Shingle Style Victorian was designed by the prominent architect Frank Furness for his nephew, Walter Rogers Furness, who later became an architect himself. The younger Furness was one of the founding members of the Jekyll Island Club and wintered here for several seasons. He sold the cottage to Joseph Pulitzer in 1896 and after three moves and several subsequent owners, it served as the Jekyll Island Club Infirmary. Today, it’s home to the beloved Jekyll Books, a must-see shop for regional literature and unique gifts.