This landmark hotel traces its origins to Morgan T. Wynne and Franklin J. Horne, who first opened it as a seaside dance club in 1935. On 2 July 1941, the King and Prince Hotel, designed by Laurence Miller and Felton Davis in the Spanish Colonial Revival style, opened to rave reviews. It immediately became the hotel of record on St. Simons.
It was occupied by the Navy as a coast-watching and training facility during World War II, reopening in 1947.
Renovations in the 1970s and 1980s modernized rooms and infrastructure, but retained the historical integrity of the property. An expansion doubled the number of rooms in 2003, again, with a focus on maintaining its iconic appearance. Now known as the King and Prince Beach & Golf Resort, it remains as nostalgic and popular as ever. And with the loss of the DeSoto Beach Hotel on Tybee Island in 1999, the King and Prince is the last of Georgia’s grand old oceanfront hotels.
National Register of Historic Places